Many of you will hate me for the statement I am about to make but it is something I must say.

All my Christmas shopping was done BEFORE Thanksgiving.
Yep all of it, done. I actually get to kick back and enjoy the Christmas Season.
Well at least that is what I thought I would be able to do. Instead now I am trying to block out every sale, every advertisement, and every amazing deal that is being thrown at me from every media outlet. It is unreal how for the first time in my life I was able to plan ahead far enough to know what my family wanted and to have it bought and set aside for Christmas. And now I am going to be punished because I did not put it off until Thanksgiving.
Are we now literally becoming a society that not only promotes procrastination but rewards it? Through the door buster deal that is designed to make people come in on Thanksgiving Day. It was bad enough when we followed our celebration of being thankful for what we have with the unofficial holiday of Black Friday to buy more stuff, now we have thrown the holiday out the window to go get more stuff. More stuff that we cannot afford, gotta love the credit card racket.
So now I hear about how I could have saved money on everything I bought if I had been willing to sacrifice the wonderful time I had with my family. Now I am encouraged to not only sacrifice my time with my family but also to force others to have to work away from their family so they can wait on me while I wait on the price to drop.
How about I just keep doing what I did. Buy the gifts ahead of time so I can enjoy time with my family and you can enjoy time with yours.
Let’s slow down and remember that this time of year is not about buying stuff we have to spend the rest of the year paying for that we mostly didn’t need in the first place. Let’s slow down and remember what the point of the Christmas season is about. And maybe, just maybe our blood pressure goes down, our joy goes up and we all enjoy a little peace on earth. At least until New Year’s Eve, then you’re on your own

About wyldewoody

I am a scholar and a preacher. I am a father, husband and friend. I have served my country and cussed my government and will continue to do both. I enjoy writing and you never know what you might find here in my posts. I will write about everything from my biblical opinion to scientific musings potentially bad stories to editorials about public policy and international affairs. I suppose that is blogging in general, if you like it great, if you don’t go somewhere else, if you disagree with me, great I love a good discussion. Hell might just find me ranting to the shadows in the corner. Kinda like I think I am doing now. And if my punctuation irritates you, that makes me happy.

2 responses to “Many of you will hate me for the statement I am about to make but it is something I must say.”

  1. Teepee12 says :

    I already bought everything too, but none of the stuff on sale is anything I would have have purchased, not really. A lot of the sales are just teasers anyhow. They aren’t what they claim to me … and you DID buy yourself time. I have nothing left to buy except wrapping paper and gift bags. That’s gotta be worth something.

  2. Russel Ray Photos says :

    Ha! I got you beat. I do all my Christmas shopping at the after-Christmas sales, the New Year’s sales, and the new year inventory sales. The only Christmas shopping I do after February 1 is if I get a new friend (worthy of a gift) or a new relative (by birth, adoption, or marriage). I totally despise the time between Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Leave a Reply

