Depression is a bear.

Some days it sneaks up on you and grabs ahold of your soul and you don’t even realize it is there. And then when you do realize it is there it is like wrestling a bear to get rid of it. Only sometimes you don’t want to wrestle the bear, you just want to sit down and let the misery sink in and permeate every piece of your soul.
And that is when you have to fight the hardest. Fighting is easy when you are in the mood for it. But when that sneak up on ya feeling hits you just don’t want to fight, that is when you have to dig your heels in to the psychological muck and turn to battle the foe. Who of course is you.
That moment when you see the beast is the moment of choice. If we ignore it, well it gets stronger and that much harder to fight. We must confront it at the first encroachment. We must stand up and pummel the beast back into its cave. All the while knowing that it will be back, it may charge it may stalk but it will be back.
Stay vigilant, pay attention to yourself. You are your early warning system; once those around you notice the problem your fight becomes that much tougher. The battle is always tough but always winnable, regardless of the odds. Faith and calling on God is our greatest weapon. But do not ignore friends, family and medical help if necessary. Use all the weapons in the arsenal, fight to win but always know that the battle never ends. And that is actually a good thing.

Tags: , , , , ,

About wyldewoody

I am a scholar and a preacher. I am a father, husband and friend. I have served my country and cussed my government and will continue to do both. I enjoy writing and you never know what you might find here in my posts. I will write about everything from my biblical opinion to scientific musings potentially bad stories to editorials about public policy and international affairs. I suppose that is blogging in general, if you like it great, if you don’t go somewhere else, if you disagree with me, great I love a good discussion. Hell might just find me ranting to the shadows in the corner. Kinda like I think I am doing now. And if my punctuation irritates you, that makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

