Just a quick recap of this day’s events

House offers bill to fund NIH, VA and Reservists. This would have helped many people in dire need. The Senate refused and then blamed the Republicans because cancer patients and others got turned away from new drug trials through NIH even though it was the Democrats in the Senate, i.e. Harry reed who refused to move the bill to fund those operations forward.

Of course had he moved them forward the President already said he would veto the spending to provide these vital services. Odd that a President who has repeatedly pulled an end around to get what he wants politically is now unwilling to do anything to get people the real help they need. He could have given a waiver to NIH; he could have agreed to sign the limited funding on legislation that might actually do some real good. He could have, the Democrats in the Senate could have. But they did not. They made the decision to leave drug trials hanging in the wind all for political gain. They then blamed the Republicans for this, yes the same folks who tried to get some funding going out there.

Once again Obama shows how compassionate he is and how much he cares about people in need in this country. His goal is all about his “legacy” his “Signature Legislation” his namesake “OBAMACARE”. Just once I would like the media to show these people for what they are. I don’t like most Republicans any more than I like Democrats but folks right now it is pretty damn sad when one side is willing to do even a little bit of something that would be good for everyone and the other side is not willing to.

Congress could have done good today. They chose not to, well Harry Reed and the Democrats in the Senate are real obstacle here. Guess maybe they are too busy working on a budget, ya know since it has only been four years since we have had one.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About wyldewoody

I am a scholar and a preacher. I am a father, husband and friend. I have served my country and cussed my government and will continue to do both. I enjoy writing and you never know what you might find here in my posts. I will write about everything from my biblical opinion to scientific musings potentially bad stories to editorials about public policy and international affairs. I suppose that is blogging in general, if you like it great, if you don’t go somewhere else, if you disagree with me, great I love a good discussion. Hell might just find me ranting to the shadows in the corner. Kinda like I think I am doing now. And if my punctuation irritates you, that makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

