I just don’t know…

Yesterday was so hard. We said good bye to a dear, dear young lady who was taken from us far too soon. I cried, Hell I cried a lot, more for my own loss and the loss of so many others whose life she touched. To see a funeral home out in the country overflowing with people who loved her was moving. Knowing of the many others who could not be there was even more so. To say she will be missed is an understatement.

And then as I was driving home some things became clear to me. First was how this 22 year old woman had touched so many lives in such a wonderfully positive way. She had a positive attitude toward everything, to the point it was infectious. You could not help but be happy when you spent time with her. Second was how much I truly missed spending time with all the young people I used to work with. I do not know if being around them made me feel younger or, more likely, since most would consider me a bit immature for my age (46) I just fit in well with them. Or if because I have the sense of humor of a 13 year old boy, who knows? All I know is that I miss them terribly. And thirdly I asked myself, just because we do not work together anymore why the hell does that keep us apart?

That last question made me pull my car off the road. It was so simple, yet so stupid of me. I mean we keep in touch through Facebook and other social media stuff, but let me tell you as good as social media can be it does not replace the joy of being in the presence of the people you care about. So as I sat on the side of the road (banging my head against the steering wheel) I had the beginnings of an idea.

Once a month or so I propose we have a get together. Possibly even have an annual Kelly Crawford event, something to raise money for St Jude’s maybe. This would give us a chance to, not only remember what we have lost in losing her, but more importantly to remember what we gained from her life.

About wyldewoody

I am a scholar and a preacher. I am a father, husband and friend. I have served my country and cussed my government and will continue to do both. I enjoy writing and you never know what you might find here in my posts. I will write about everything from my biblical opinion to scientific musings potentially bad stories to editorials about public policy and international affairs. I suppose that is blogging in general, if you like it great, if you don’t go somewhere else, if you disagree with me, great I love a good discussion. Hell might just find me ranting to the shadows in the corner. Kinda like I think I am doing now. And if my punctuation irritates you, that makes me happy.

3 responses to “I just don’t know…”

  1. AR Neal says :

    It sounds like you have a wonderful idea through which to honor a special young woman. Go for it!

  2. bullright says :

    Good article. A real nice tribute. Ah, those head banging moments are learning moments for all of us – or should be.

  3. Noba Dee says :

    Great story! We have so many distractions in life; it makes it easy for us to take those around us for granted. It is sad that it took the loss of a loved one to grant you this epiphany. As many of us have discovered; the hard truths in life are the ones we try to tip-toe around; but, are painfully necessary for us to grow.

Leave a Reply

