Problem or Solution, your call

I am amazed sometimes when I am faced with human kind’s cruelty toward each other. Throughout history we have been really good at being terrible to each other. We have enslaved, tortured, abused, raped and exploited others, and those are within our own society. When faced with those who have different beliefs or skin color we have gone so far as trying to commit genocide against them, literally wiping out any trace that they had existed, amazing.

I have to ask myself, why, why do we do these things. I have a friend who has made much of his life’s work to study torture. How sad is it that there is more than enough opportunity for people to study the various aspects and causes of torture. It can be easy to sit back and think that that kind of thing only happens someplace else or that we do not do those kinds of things anymore, it just aint so folks. We do it, we promote it, hells bells people we even pay for it to be done.

Think about where your clothes are made. Take a look at the labels, odds are they are made someplace in Asia, possibly the Middle East, but generally made some place that uses sweat shops or even slave labor. Look at the produce you buy at your local grocery store. Many major agribusiness places willingly import “undocumented workers” whom they keep as virtual prisoners working for well below minimum wage and forced to “pay” what little they earn right back to the employer for room and board, or even worse to pay them back for smuggling them into the US in the first place.

And then there is the sex trade. Sex traffickers are all over the world. Do not try and kid yourselves it goes on right here in the good old USA just like it does in other countries. No matter how much we try to bury our heads in the sand and pretend it is someone else’s problem it is ours as well.

I see these things and wonder what can I do, what can one guy in the Ozark’s do about a problem that reaches around the world? And the only answer I can come up with is, I just do not know.
Bottom line is we have enabled the world to become a pretty dark place, not that it was not dark on its own mind you, but we have made it worse. There are a lot of things we can do on a small scale to help combat many social problems in the world. And I will visit many of those in other posts. The main thing to keep in mind is nothing changes unless you make the change. Know where your food comes from, know what the person you vote into office is doing with your voice, and know what the businesses you frequent are doing. Is it hard? Yes, yes it is hard and it takes time and none of us feel like we have enough time as it is.

The next time you just grab something without paying attention to the conditions that created the product, think about how irritated you get when someone does something with no regard to how you are treated. Then understand we are part of the problem and we need to become the solution.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About wyldewoody

I am a scholar and a preacher. I am a father, husband and friend. I have served my country and cussed my government and will continue to do both. I enjoy writing and you never know what you might find here in my posts. I will write about everything from my biblical opinion to scientific musings potentially bad stories to editorials about public policy and international affairs. I suppose that is blogging in general, if you like it great, if you don’t go somewhere else, if you disagree with me, great I love a good discussion. Hell might just find me ranting to the shadows in the corner. Kinda like I think I am doing now. And if my punctuation irritates you, that makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

