Nikola Tesla and the robot revolution

Nikola Tesla is, without a doubt, one of the most brilliant human beings who ever lived. If not for the human frailties of greed and corruption the world we live in today would be a far better place. And the pisser is it was not his greed, it was not his corruption. It was that of others. People like Thomas Edison and J.P. Morgan who put their own wants above the opportunity to make the world a better place.

Today in the news I have seen two separate stories about robots, or drones. Tesla was planning a world filled with robots before we even had smart phones, hell he was thinking smart phones and iPods before we even had computers. The man was beyond a visionary, he was a prophet. He figured how to supply free power to any place on the earth. When he tried to get funding to make it work J.P. Morgan asked “Where do we put the meter”?

If there was no way for Morgan to make a buck he didn’t want anything to do with it. Even worse he helped conspire to rob Tesla of some of his patents. Going so far as to use his contacts with corrupt government officials to give some of Tesla’s patents to Marconi, they were eventually re credited to Tesla, after he was dead.

Nikola Tesla wanted to use his gift to make the world a better place. He saw his designs for weapons as a way to keep wars from being fought. He saw his robotic creations as a way to improve the lives of humanity, not to make a fast buck. Tesla literally could have been the world’s first billionaire. But instead he tore up the contract that would have made him wealthy beyond the dreams of the time, so he could help a friend.

Imagine what the world would be if we could just put a leash on greed.

About wyldewoody

I am a scholar and a preacher. I am a father, husband and friend. I have served my country and cussed my government and will continue to do both. I enjoy writing and you never know what you might find here in my posts. I will write about everything from my biblical opinion to scientific musings potentially bad stories to editorials about public policy and international affairs. I suppose that is blogging in general, if you like it great, if you don’t go somewhere else, if you disagree with me, great I love a good discussion. Hell might just find me ranting to the shadows in the corner. Kinda like I think I am doing now. And if my punctuation irritates you, that makes me happy.

3 responses to “Nikola Tesla and the robot revolution”

  1. Raxa Collective says :

    Hi Wyldewoody, thanks for introducing yourself by following our site. I hope you know that we’re also mad Tesla fans! If not, here’s an example of one of our posts about him: http://raxacollective.wordpress.com/2013/07/11/birthday-present-for-mr-tesla/. (Releasing the flying monkeys is another great metaphor, thanks for sharing it.) Cheers!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Cultivating Intuition - August 5, 2013

Leave a Reply

