Look for the love and share it.

Kansas City Farmers Market

Saturday morning I took my daughters to down town Kansas City. We went down to the riverfront farmers market and had a great time. It was awesome to see so many different types of people there. We must have heard a dozen different languages, saw everything from hippies in tye-dye to Muslim women in full Burkas.

We stopped at a middle-eastern vendor for a couple different types of baklava, and they tasted awesome. The sights and smells of all the produce, flowers, spices, foods are just amazing. And to be honest to see so many people from so many different backgrounds enjoying a truly beautiful summer day with the sounds of street musicians in the background brings joy to my heart. Sharing it with my children just makes a day like that much better.

Seeing the produce from local area farms and even some urban farmers using small scale production methods was great. All the folks who embraced the idea of knowing who produced the food they took home to eat was great. Every time I go there I am reminded that we all have opportunities to live healthier, more sustainable lifestyles. When you support local farmers markets, you support families and local economy growth. The good stuff just gets better.

If only every day was filled with the kind of light and love and joy we saw Saturday humanity would be so much better off.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About wyldewoody

I am a scholar and a preacher. I am a father, husband and friend. I have served my country and cussed my government and will continue to do both. I enjoy writing and you never know what you might find here in my posts. I will write about everything from my biblical opinion to scientific musings potentially bad stories to editorials about public policy and international affairs. I suppose that is blogging in general, if you like it great, if you don’t go somewhere else, if you disagree with me, great I love a good discussion. Hell might just find me ranting to the shadows in the corner. Kinda like I think I am doing now. And if my punctuation irritates you, that makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

