Learn Damnit, Learn.

After we lost our business, in order to make ends kind of come close to meeting, I started substitute teaching at a couple of local high schools. I have to admit I loved it. I even started a program that would allow me to become a licensed teacher. Obviously that didn’t work out but that is a story for another post.
One of the most amazing things that I ever had happen was with a class of juniors. I was with them in history class for a couple of days. The lesson plan I was left for them was to have them read a chapter and answer the questions. The chapter was about the beginnings of WWII and the political climate here in the US. There was no way I was going to let their only exposure to that time period come from a brief chapter designed to help them pass a test. Learning is about so much more than test prep.

So I proceeded to give them a lecture, now my lectures are a lot more than just standing at the podium talking. I get into what I am talking about and use modern concepts that the kids are familiar with to explain historical events. When my time with that group was over I was amazed at the number of students who came up and thanked me. Yes juniors in high school thanked me for teaching them something. Wow, when I was a junior I cannot imagine thanking a teacher much less a substitute teacher.

Since then in various jobs I have had the chance to work with people of all ages. And have talked about history, and politics and government policies and how those things have an impact on the lives we live today. Now I often post things on Facebook that have great historical stories. It never fails to amaze me how often people thank me for posting these stories. Damn shame that we don’t teach them in school or even have the lives of our true heroes be covered on the news rather than those in Hollywood.

Take some time today, research, question, learn trust me on this if you don’t know what is going on in the world at best you are a sheep waiting to be spoon fed the crap the corporate news wants you to know.

Learn Damnit, Learn.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About wyldewoody

I am a scholar and a preacher. I am a father, husband and friend. I have served my country and cussed my government and will continue to do both. I enjoy writing and you never know what you might find here in my posts. I will write about everything from my biblical opinion to scientific musings potentially bad stories to editorials about public policy and international affairs. I suppose that is blogging in general, if you like it great, if you don’t go somewhere else, if you disagree with me, great I love a good discussion. Hell might just find me ranting to the shadows in the corner. Kinda like I think I am doing now. And if my punctuation irritates you, that makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

