“Why the Hell Not?”

Back in 2006 Kinky Friedman ran for governor of the great state of Texas, he did not win, hell he barely even showed. But I think what he did was more important. He made people think. Now thinking for one’s self nowadays is not really what our “establishment” wants. Lately we have reporters, interviewing other freaking reporters about the issues of the day. We have a huge industry I call infotainment with Rush Limbaugh and Sean Hannity running the lead. Our news is 24/7/365, no breaks no chance for reporters to even complete ant kind of background checks on the stories they are covering. They through out conjecture and theories and, lets face it, Bullshit from all over the place hoping that something comes close to the truth. And then not really caring if it is true as long as
it earns them ratings and sponsors.

Information is spoon-fed to people and they tend to follow without thought.

Think about how bad politics have gotten. As a nation we are so apathetic about our political system that we barely even bother to show up to vote for the president, and if it is not a major event like a national election we don’t show up. Hells bells people men and women throughout the history of this country have laid down their lives so that we the damn people can have our say and we have become too lazy to give a damn.
We take what we are fed and wait until the next episode of survivor or American idol. Damn we care more about who gets voted off the island than we care about who gets voted into office.

Now when Kinky ran he truly wanted to become governor of Texas and I would have loved to see it happen. Not because I am a Texan but because once in a while it is good to see the two-party system we have trapped ourselves in get shaken up. Damn anymore the only real difference between the parties seems to be what color tie they were wearing.

When Jessie Ventura won in Minnesota it was because they had more people turn out to vote than in any election before or since. Was that because they all wanted to get on the idea wagon of Ventura, well some did but most just wanted to elect a governor that could body slam the governor of Wisconsin. Who doesn’t want a bonified badass in charge?

Kinky was not going to body slam anyone. The only thing Kinky slams is shots of Jamison’s or Man in Black tequila. But he had some damn fine ideas about how the state of Texas should be run.

Personally I would love to see him run every cycle for governor of Texas, as an Independent. Hell I would like to see him start working with other independents in other states that have the same type of star power and common sense charisma he has. Lets piss off the pundents. Lets make people break away from American Idol for a few weeks and actually pay attention to what the hell is going on locally in their state. Lets find away to break the chains of apathy. Seriously they are not that strong we just have not wanted to test them for fear of missing out on who is going to give the best cha-cha on dancing with the stars.

From the bottom of my somewhat jaded political heart I say Run Kinky Run give the country a reason to pay attention and maybe, just maybe, start a revolution of ideas for a change.
Like the campaign said “Why the Hell Not?”

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About wyldewoody

I am a scholar and a preacher. I am a father, husband and friend. I have served my country and cussed my government and will continue to do both. I enjoy writing and you never know what you might find here in my posts. I will write about everything from my biblical opinion to scientific musings potentially bad stories to editorials about public policy and international affairs. I suppose that is blogging in general, if you like it great, if you don’t go somewhere else, if you disagree with me, great I love a good discussion. Hell might just find me ranting to the shadows in the corner. Kinda like I think I am doing now. And if my punctuation irritates you, that makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

